God’s Preferred Pronoun

It’s the one you think

Vuyo Ngcakani
2 min readSep 8, 2020

--

Photo by Franck V. on Unsplash

I was reading an article and the writer made a reference to God and used the pronoun “she” when referring to Him. I hear this a lot from the PC or feminist types and it just sounds absurd if you’re referring to the God of the Bible.

Let’s be clear. God is spirit (John 4:24). He is neither male nor female. So how do we refer to a gender-neutral God?

The way He wants us to.

The Bible is God’s story of creation, His interaction with humans especially the Jewish people, and how He redeems us through His Son Jesus. Wherever God is referred to, the writer uses male references. He, Him, His, Father, Son of Man. Jesus, the Son of God came as a male, not a female.

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Let me repeat. God is spirit. He is neither male nor female. I’m just looking for logical consistency. We are being asked by the gender lobby to refer to people by any of the 80 or so gender pronouns that they prefer. I have no problem with that. If someone wants me to refer to them as “zer” instead of “him” or “her,” I will. I’m about polite discourse and getting hung up on gender references can impede an otherwise good conversation.

The same courtesy must be applied to God. Yes, the bible was written by men in a patriarchal society but those arguments are just red herrings. It is the word of God, written by men who were inspired by the Holy Spirit. And they used male pronouns. So we must do the same. It’s clearly what He wants.

It’s what He prefers.

--

--

Vuyo Ngcakani

writer, husband for 28 years, father of 3, grandfather of 2. I write about fatherhood, parenting, Christianity, & other topics. https://vuyongcakani.com